Words Fitly Spoken

istock_000005707930xsmall2Proverbs 25:11 A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in a setting of silver.

So, there I was…sitting at Steak N Shake trying to be Mr. Humble.  With confidence in my voice I asked, “So, do you have any observations for me about areas I could grow.”  I waited.  I thought I would hear, “No, not really” or “thanks for asking, that is so humble of you,” but what I heard changed my communication with my wife to this day.  My friend Larry said, “Well, Mike, thanks for asking.  There is one area that I wondered about.” (at this point…I stopped breathing).  Larry continued, “I’ve noticed that you and Kristin interrupt each other a lot.  You guys will be telling stories and often times, you will cut each other off.”  BOOM! My heart was exposed and I knew he was right.  He graciously adjusted my rear view mirror so that I could see the obvious “interruption Mac Truck” that was in my blind spot.  It had some sting, but it was such a blessing.  I am so thankful for words fitly spoken like these.  I had to repent to God and my wife and I thanked God for his kindness to expose my heart.

Recently, I was reading Thomas Watson’s The Doctrine of Repentance and he gave some encouraging words about why repentance is so important.  He says, “Repentance is required as a qualification.  It is not so much to endear us to Christ as to endear Christ to us.  Till sin be bitter, Christ will not be sweet.”  Now, read that quote again…slower this time.

You see, repentance is not an end in itself.  Repentance brings us back into a right relationship with our Savior.  When we see our sin, we can humbly repent.   When we see how bad of sinners we are, we see a cross that is far greater than we ever imagined.  Our goal is not to “find sin” our goal is see God.  Christ took ALL of our sins upon himself.  “[Jesus] himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we may die to sin and live to righteousness, by his wounds we are healed” (1 Peter 2:24). May our sin continue to grow bitter and our Christ continue to be sweeter!  Even if it takes the words of friends to adjust our mirrors.

[written by Mike Seaver]

Leave a Reply

