Hearing Others on Holiness

1032418_childs_earAny talk about living a holy, God-honoring life must begin with the gospel news that I am not accepted or approved or forgiven or loved by God on the basis of my holy life, but on the basis of Christ’s.  His holy life is why I am accepted, approved, forgiven and loved by God.  That was the essence of this past Sunday’s sermon.

 

In a message like that I have this fierce temptation to include every single one of my favorite quotes in the message – I’d rather you hear from people who really knew how to articulate the wonders of God’s grace.   However, including them all in a sermon probably isn’t the best way for you to benefit from them.  So instead they are included here as food for your soul to reflect and feed on as to why by that single sacrifice you have been perfected for all time in the sight of God (Heb. 10:14)

 

Enjoy.

 

“Justification is an ACT.  It is not a work, or series of acts.  It is not progressive.  The weakest believer and the strongest saint are alike equally justified.  Justification admits no degrees.  A man is either wholly justified or wholly condemned in the sight of God.” – William S. Plummer

 

“[About the righteousness of Christ] To that righteousness is the eye of the believer ever to be directed; on that righteousness must he rest; on that righteousness must he live; on that righteousness must he die; in that righteousness must he appear before the judgment-seat; in that righteousness must he stand forever in the presence of a righteous God.”  Robert Haldane

 

“It is not our contrition or sorrow for our sin; it is not our repentance, it is not even the passing of a certain number of hours during which we feel we are on some kind of probation that cleanses us.  It is the blood of Christ, shed once for all on Calvary two thousand years ago but appropriated daily or even many times a day, that cleanses our consciences and gives us a renewed sense of peace with God.” – Jerry Bridges

 

“There is nothing done in us or done by us at any stage of our earthly development because of which we are acceptable to God.  We must always be accepted for Christ’s sake or we cannot be accepted at all.  And this is true of us not only when we believe, it is just as true after we have believed, and it will continue to be true as long as we live.  It is always on his blood and righteousness alone that we can rest.” – B.B. Warfield

 

 “One day as I was passing into the field with some dashes on my conscience; fearing that all was not right; suddenly this sentence fell upon my soul:  Your righteousness is in heaven!  I thought I saw with the eyes of my soul JC at God’s right hand.  There was my righteousness!  Wherever I was, whatever I was doing God could not say of me that I lacked His righteousness for that was ever before Him.  Moreover, I saw that it was not my good frame of heart that made my righteousness better, nor my bad frame that made my righteousness worse – for my righteousness was Jesus Christ himself – the same yesterday, today and forever.” – John Bunyan

“I have taken all my good deeds, and all my bad, and cast them in a heap before the Lord, and fled from both, and betaken myself to the Lord Jesus Christ; and in Him I have sweet peace.” — D. Dickson

“Such we are in the sight of God the Father, as is the very Son of God himself.  Let it be counted folly or frenzy or fury whatsoever.  It is our wisdom and our comfort; we care for no knowledge in the world but this, that man hath sinned and God has suffered; that God hath made himself the sin of men, and that men are made the righteousness of God.” – Richard Hooker

 

“How are you right with God?  Only by true faith in Jesus Christ.  Even though my conscience accuses me of having grievously sinned against all God’s commandments and of never having kept any of them, and even though I am still inclined toward all evil, nevertheless, without my deserving it at all, out of sheer grace, God grants and credits to me the perfect satisfaction, righteousness, and holiness of Christ, as if I had never sinned nor been a sinner, as if I had been as perfectly obedient as Christ was obedient for me.  All I need to do is to accept this gift of God with a believing heart.”

        The Heidelberg Catechism (1563)

[written by Joe Lechner]

